Trine Captures WIttenberg Invitational

Trine Captures WIttenberg Invitational

SPRINGFIELD, OHIO  --  The Trine University women's cross country team placed six individuals inside the top-10, including the top-two overall times, en route to claiming the Wittenberg (Ohio) University Invitational in Springfield, Ohio.

Trine ended the event with 23 points to claim top honors among five schools.  Host school Wittenberg was second with 34 points and Wilberforce (Ohio) University rounded out the thop-three with 104 points.

Evonne Bultemeyer (Fort Wayne, Ind./Homestead) led the Thunder individually with the top overall time in the field of 42 competitors of 19:28.5.  Lacie Piekarski posted the second fastest time of the meet, and for the team, at 20:06.0. 

Four other runners finished in the top-10 with Elizabeth Lohman (Fort Wayne, Ind./Carroll) recording the sixth overalll quickest time at 21:13.8.  Chloe Brittain (Wheeler, Mich./Breckenridge), Stacy Dibley (Bristol, Ind./Elkhart Central) and Ruthie Luebcke (Crown Point, Ind./Crown Point) took eighth through 10th place with Brittain completing the course in a time of 21:34.5, Dibley ran a time of 21:46.4 and Luebcke turned in a time of 21:49.3.

Also placing in the top-20, was Miranda Coombs (Lexington, Mich./Croswell-Lexington), Sybil Kurian (Elkhart, Ind./Penn) and Madison Howard (Stockbridge, Mich./Stockbridge).  Coombs placed 13th overall after running a time of 22:47.9.  Kurian had a mark of 23:48.2 which was good enough for 18th and Howard posted a time of 24:34.6 to rank as the 20th fastest individual overall.

Finishing just outside the top-20 was the duo of Kenni Bassage (Reading, Mich./Reading) and Logan Sawyer (McCordsville, Ind./Lawrence Central).  Bassage finished just over seven seconds behind Howard in 21st place at 24:38.7.  Sawyer was the final Trine runner to compete and finished 25th overall in a time of 27:05.6. 

Trine will travel to North Manchester, Ind. to compete in the Manchester University Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 15.  The women's race is scheduled to begin at 4 p.m.