Wrestling Falls to No. 12 Olivet

Wrestling Falls to No. 12 Olivet

OLIVET, Mich. – Trine wrestling was defeated by No. 12 Olivet, 42-3, in a Thursday night dual in the Cutler Event Center.

Kevin Papak took the quick lead for the Comets at 157 with a takedown. Nick Miller (Fort Wayne, Ind. / Snider) answered back with a quick escape. Papak had two more takedowns in the first period to lead by the score of 6-2 over Miller. In the second period, Miller got a quick escape and seconds later added a takedown to lessen Papak's lead to 6-5. The third period Miller was able to get rid of Papak's riding time before the Comet wrestler got an escape. With 50 seconds left in the final period, Miller tied up the score with a toe tap double leg before going out of bounds. Papak got an escape within seconds but Miller answered back with another takedown. With seconds left Papak was able to get a reversal and back points to win the match 15-9.

Jaycee Jensen (Burns Harbor, Ind. / Chesterton) scored the first takedown of the match for the Thunder at 184 pounds. Ryan Clark came back with a stand up to escape to end the first period. Clark got a quick escape in the start of the second period to tie the score back up. With 20 seconds left in the second, Jensen got another takedown to go up 4-2. Clark option started on Jensen to allow the Thunder junior to get an escape. Jensen got another takedown off a bad shot by the Comets' wrestler. Clark got an escape late in the final period but it wasn't enough to come back. Jensen won by a Decision, 8-4, and scored the Thunder's first team points of the night, 31-3.

The Thunder returns to the mats for its Military Appreciation Night, when it wrestles Manchester University Tuesday night. Wrestling will begin at 7 p.m in Hershey Hall.

Article courtesy Cody Konieczki, Communications New Media '17


125 Michael Schmidt (Olivet) over Brendan Stevens (Trine University) (Dec 6-0)

133 Evan Hoshaw (Olivet) over Unknown (For.)  

141 Gage Major (Olivet) over Michael Weaver (Trine University) (Fall 1:53)

149 Austin Kelly (Olivet) over Caleb Maddox (Trine University) (Dec 7-1)

157 Kevin Papak (Olivet) over Nick Miller (Trine University) (Dec 15-9)

165 Ross Pennock (Olivet) over Brandon Gay (Trine University) (Fall 0:27)

174 Tyler Grimsley (Olivet) over Austin Farrell (Trine University) (Dec 11-3)

184 JayCee Jensen (Trine University) over Ryan Clark (Olivet) (Dec 8-4)

197 Kyle Carter (Olivet) over Anthony Neal (Trine University) (Fall 2:39)

285 Jesse Judge (Olivet) over Tyler Prater (Trine University) (TF 16-1)