Women's Hockey Sweeps Chatham

Women's Hockey Sweeps Chatham

ANGOLA, Ind. -- The Trine University women's hockey team scored three goals in each of the final two periods on the way to a 6-1 victory over visiting Chatham University.

Neither score picked up a goal in the first period of the contest entering the intermission still tied at zero.

The Thunder picked up the first goal of the contest in the third minute of the second. Junior Eryn Isaacson (Fenton, Mich.) stole the puck in the neutral zone and finished off the play on her own with her fifth goal of the season.

The team added to their lead just three minutes later. This time junior Olivia Coyne (Allison Park, Pa.) came up with the puck in the defensive zone before passing it along to classmate Jade Pandres (Eagle River, Alaska). From there the puck was passed off to freshman Sara Martino (Arlington Heights, Ill.) who took the puck through the neutral zone and put it into the net from close range. The goal gave Trine a 2-0 lead at the time and would end up being the game-winner. 

The third goal of the period came from senior Katie Plyer (Layton, Utah) in the 16th minute of the third. She scored the goal in close to the crease after a quick pass from behind the net from linemate Sydney Hernalsteen (Macomb, Mich.) with senior Bailey Goodwin (Fort Wayne, Ind.) adding another assist.

The Cougars added their lone goal of the contest in the waning minutes of the period to enter the second intermission trailing 3-1.

Trine continued clicking offensively in the third adding three more goals, including two empty-netters, to pull away for a 6-1 victory.

In net for the Thunder, sophomore Emily Nettesheim (Hartland, Wis.) came up with 20 saves as she recorded the first victory of her Trine career.

The team improves to 5-5-3 overall following the win. They return to Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA) competition when they travel to face Marian University in their next game which will take place on Friday, January 17. Opening faceoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. CST.