Beakas, Miller Earn All-MIAA Honors at MIAA Championship

Beakas, Miller Earn All-MIAA Honors at MIAA Championship

KALAMAZOO, MICH.  --  Sophomores Jack Beakas (Auburn, Ind./DeKalb) and Derek Miller (Shipshewana, Ind./Westview) both earned All-Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association honors at the annual MIAA Championships hosted by Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, Mich.

The Thunder finished with an overall team score of 78 points to place third out of eight teams.  Hope (Mich.) College won the team championship with a total of 32 points and Calvin (Mich.) College was second at 57 points.

The top-16 individuals in the event garnered All-Conference accolades with the top-eight earning first-team recognition and the next eight second-team honors.

Beakas and Miller both placed in the top-15 with Beakas posting the top overall time for the Thunder at 26:17.3 and placed 12th overall amongst 127 total runners.  Miller finished three spots back in 15th place with a time of 26:31.0.  The duo both earned second-team All-MIAA recognition with their individual performances.

Senior Jonathan Phillips (Royal Center, Ind./Pioneer) finished just outside the top-16 in 17th place after navigating the course in a mark of 26:34.7.  Junior Vilis Vuskalns (Indianapolis, Ind./Beech Grove) crossed the finish line in 19th place in a time of 26:37.3 and was followed by sophomore Noah Acker (Kendallville, Ind./East Noble) who placed 21st with a time of 26:42.1.

Sophomores Alex Amaro (Fort Wayne, Ind./Concorida Lutheran) and Neil O'Brien (Whiteland, Ind./Roncalli) rounded out the team score qualifying times at 26:53.7 and 27:02.0, respectively.

"Our men's team had decent day today finishing third behind Calvin and Albion," said Head Coach Zach Raber.  "Jack and Derek were able to hang on for second-team All-Conference, but the rest of the guys just broke up from their groups too early.  We have two weeks to get ready for the regional and I'm sure they'll be ready."

Trine will next compete in the NCAA Division III Great Lakes Regional Meet which will be held on Saturday, Nov. 10 at the Blue River Cross Country Course in Shelbyville, Ind.  The men's race is scheduled to begin at noon.