Trine Men Compete at Hillsdale Wide-Track Classic

Trine Men Compete at Hillsdale Wide-Track Classic

HILLSDALE, MICH.  --  The Trine University men's indoor track and field team traveled north to Hillsdale, Mich. to take part in the Hillsdale College Wide-Track Classic and placed seventh overall of 20 teams.

Senior Jeffery Barnett (Fremont, Ohio/Ross) highlighted the field events with a first-place finish in the long jump after a leap of 22' 7.00".

Also in the field events, senior Nick Gerber (Goshen, Ind./Goshen) posted a top-10 finish in the weight throw with a distance of 52' 6.50" which was good enough for eighth place out of 39 participants.

In the running events, sophomore Jack Beakas (Auburn, Ind./DeKalb) led a field of 35 runners in the mile run with a time of 4:37.01.  Fellow sophomore Alex Amaro (Fort Wayne, Ind./Concordia Lutheran) also competed in the event and finished in 10th place overall with a mark of 4:46.78.

A total of three Trine runners crossed the finish line in the top-10 in the 800-meter run led by sophomore Neil O'Brien (Whiteland, Ind./Roncalli) who placed third overall in a time of 2:01.96.  Senior Jasper Bassett (Auburn, Ind./DeKalb) finished one spot back of O'Brien in fourth place and recorded a time of 4:46.78.  Beakas completed the top finishers for the Thunder in 10th place with a mark of 2:09.65.

In addition, Trine had two runners place in the top-five in the one-mile "Championship" in sophomores Derek Miller (Shipshewana, Ind./Westview) and Levi Neuzerling (Noblesville, Ind./Noblesville).  Miller palced third in the event and clipped the tape in a time of 4:31.43.  Neuzerling placed two spots back in fifth place after completing the race in a time of 4:32.15.

Senior Nick Zak (Saint John, Ind./Hanover Central) ran in the 800-meter run "Championship" and crossed the line in sixth place with a time of 1:58.27.

Up next for Trine will be the Pat Heenan Invitational hosted by North Central (Ill.) College on Friday, Feb. 8 in Naperville, Ill.  The first events are scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. CST.