Men's and Women's Hockey Student Athletes Honored by the AHCA

Men's and Women's Hockey Student Athletes Honored by the AHCA

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) has released its Krampade All American Scholar listings for the 2018-19 season. Both the Trine University men's and women's hockey team came away with ten honorees on this year's edition.

The tally puts both teams near the top of the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA) in total honorees. The men's team comes in just behind Lake Forest College and Lawrence University to finish third while the women's team finished atop the NCHA with their tally.

Four members of the men's team earned the honor for the second year in a row. Junior defensemen Henry Hearon (Chicago, Ill.) was joined by sophomore forwards Alex Johanson (Skokie, Ill.), Michael Meisenbacher (Basking Ridge, N.J.) and Corey Robertson (South Lyon, Mich.) in earning the award for a second time.

Joining the repeat appearances were four sophomores and two freshmen. Defenders Ben Lau (Prospect, Ky.), Chris Garrity (Stafford, Va.) and Blake Robertson (South Lyon, Mich.) as well as goaltender Aaron Brickman (St. Louis, Mo.) made up the sophomore ranks of first-timers. Forward Brandon Krumpschmid (Grand Rapids, Mich.) and defenseman Trent Wydrowski (Bellevue, Wash.) were the two freshmen to make the list for the team.

All ten of the honorees for the women's team make their debut appearance on the list. The group includes five forwards, four defenders and one goalie.

Junior Katie Plyer (Layton, Utah), sophomores Hannah Nelson (Libertyville, Ill.) and Sierra Westner (Saginaw, Mich.) along with freshmen Ava Russano (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) and Brandi Wilson (Fenton, Mich.) make up the group of forwards. Sophomores Jade Pandres (Eagle River, Alaska) and Kirsten Vandenheuvel (Denfield, Ont.) along with freshmen Devin Dzumaryk (Milford, Mich.) and Natasha Strbiak (Renton, Wash.) represent the defensemen. Freshman Emily Nettesheim (Hartland, Wis.) rounds out the group as the lone goaltender for the team to make the list.

The "Krampade All American Scholars" award recognizes varsity ice hockey players who attained a 3.6 GPA each semester and participated in 40% of their school's games in the 2018-19 season. The names of 936 Division II-III men and women were released this week a month after 497 of their Division I counterparts were announced. A small number of waivers to the 40% participation requirement was granted due to injury or for back-up goaltenders.

"The list of honorees represents the best of the NCAA, student-athletes who excel on and off the ice," said AHCA Executive Director Joe Bertagna. "The sport demands a great deal from these athletes so it is a great statement they make, individually and collectively, with their ability to attain this level of academic achievement."

For the full list of honorees check out the full release from the AHCA.