Carswell, Barnett Named MIAA Players of the Week

Carswell, Barnett Named MIAA Players of the Week

ANGOLA, IND.  --  Trine University senior football players Lamar Carswell (Toledo, Ohio/St. Francis de Sales) and Jeffery Barnett (Fremont, Ohio/Ross) have been selected as this week's Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Offensive and Special Teams "Players of the Week."

Carswell was tabbed Offensive "Player of the Week" after rushing for 253 yards in a 42-27 win against Adrian (Mich.) College on Saturday (Nov. 3) at Fred Zollner Stadium on senior day.  Carswell was held to just 30 yards in the first half, but ran for 223 yards in the second half as the Thunder pulled away en route to the victory and marked his fourth 200-yard rushing game of the season.  He also had three touchdown runs of 22, 55 and 13 yards. 

In addition, Carswell continued to etch his name in the record books by setting Trine single-season marks for total touchdowns (30 - 28 rushing, two receiving), rushing TDs (28) and points scored (180).  He also set a MIAA single-season record with most points scored against conference opponents with 120.

Barnett garnered Special Teams "Player of the Week" for the second straight week after posting back-to-back games with a kickoff return for touchdown that included a 79-yard return for a score against Adrian that tied the game at 21-21 heading into halftime.  The score also came off the heels of a Bulldog TD that had put the visitors ahead, 21-14, at the time.  His kickoff return for TD was his third of the season.

Barnett also caught a 51-yard TD pass in the first quarter on his way to recording two catches for 71 yards.  To date, Barnett has caught 29 passes for 606 yards and three TD.

The win against Adrian also secured at least a share of the MIAA Championship for the Thunder who will travel to Kalamazoo, Mich. this Saturday, Nov. 10 to take on Kalamazoo College in the MIAA and regular-season finale.  A win would give Trine its second-consecutive undefeated regular season and outright conference title.  Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m.