Twelve Thunder Teams Earn MIAA Team Academic Awards

Twelve Thunder Teams Earn MIAA Team Academic Awards

FREELAND, Mich. -- Twelve Trine University athletic teams were named recipients of Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Team Academic Awards for the 2015-16 school year, the conference announced Monday.

The Thunder women's basketball, volleyball, women's cross country, men's golf, women's soccer, women's lacrosse, women's indoor track and field, women's outdoor track and field, men's cross country, softball, men's basketball and women's tennis teams earned the distinction. Trine boasted the third-most team honors among all institutions in the conference. Teams must have earned a cumulative GPA of at least 3.30 during the 2015-16 school year to be eligible for a Team Academic Award.

The Trine women's basketball team earned the second-best GPA of any team in the MIAA regardless of sport, posting a cumulative 3.69 GPA. Joining the women's basketball team in the top 10 in the conference was the Thunder volleyball team, which finished seventh in the MIAA with a 3.66 GPA. Each team led the MIAA in their respective sport.

Trine athletic teams boasted numerous individual academic honors during the 2015-16 school year. Men's basketball player Jared Holmquist was named the 2015-16 CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year for Division III men's basketball. Men's track and field team member Sam Gilly also earned Academic All-America honors from CoSIDA. Wrestler Caleb Maddox and women's golfer Julia DeBelly earned All-American Scholar recognition from their sport's respective coaches associations.

TMIAAer athletic teams earning the MIAA Team Academic Award are listed with their cumulative GPAs below.

Team GPA
Women's Basketball   3.69  
Volleyball 3.66
Women's Cross Country   3.56
Men's Golf 3.54
Women's Soccer 3.49
Women's Lacrosse 3.42
Women's Indoor Track and Field   3.41
Women's Outdoor Track and Field   3.41
Men's Cross Country 3.39
Softball 3.38
Men's Basketball 3.31
Women's Tennis MIAA31

A total of 92 teams received MIAA Team AcMIAAic Awards. The MIAA has presented the award each year since the 1988-89 academic year.

The MIAA release its individual honor roll in the coming weeks.